Birth Certificate »
Civil »
Death Certificate »
Family Court
Information Technology
Jury Management
Marriage »
Mortgage »
Recording »
Records Management
Research »
UCC Filings
Advance Cost Fees
Civil Records Request
Online Records
Online Records Fees
Department Directory
Email Addresses
Facsimile Numbers
Office Hours & Holidays
Lafayette Parish Clerk of Court - Louis J. Perret
Lafayette Parish Clerk of Court - Louis J. Perret

The Lafayette Parish Clerk of Court was created in 1823 by the Legislature when Lafayette Parish was carved out of the western portion of St. Martin Parish. The Clerk of the District Court is a Constitutional office of the State, being created most recently in Article 5, Section 28 of the Louisiana Constitution of 1974.

The Constitution provides that "in each parish a clerk of the district court shall be elected for a term of four years. He shall be ex officio notary public and parish recorder of conveyances, mortgages, and other acts and shall have other duties and powers provided by law."

The Lafayette Parish Clerk of Court currently has a staff of over 95 full time employees and several part time employees. These dedicated personnel represent over 1200 years of combined experience. In addition, of the full time employees, over 55 are Certified Deputy Clerks of Court while the remainder are in the process of completing certification requirements. The state certification program (CDCC) was created under the authority of Louisiana Revised Statute 13:782(I) . The program is based upon personal education, years of work related experience, continuing education and, work related seminars. Three employees are also certified under a similar international certification program sponsored by the International Association of Clerks, Recorders, Election Officials and Treasurers (IACREOT).

A view of The Lafayette Parish Courthouse from the top floor of the Parking Garage. Located on 800 S. Buchanan Laf LA 70501 Lafayette, LA 70501. (337) 291-6400